Sports Provision

Curriculm Aims 

The national curriculum for physical education aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • develop competence to excel in a broad range of physical activities
  • are physically active for sustained periods of time
  • engage in competitive sports and activities
  • lead healthy, active lives

At Utkinton we aim to deliver PE lessons in a fun, challenging, learning environment where children have the opportunity to reach their full potential. Sessions are delivered to develop children’s fundamental skills in a multi-sport environment, highlighting the importance of leading a healthy lifestyle.

Over the past six years we have successfully competed in many different sporting competitions, at both cluster and area levels. Opportunity is given to both competitive and non-competitive children to take part across the year - as we believe that there are benefits for all children in competition.
 
After-school sports clubs, led by both teachers and external coaches, built onto weekly PE sessions, help to provide a broad and rich curriculum for the children at Utkinton.

Below is a list of dates for sporting competitions we plan to enter over the next academic year (more will be added as they are confirmed).

 

 

SANDSTONE SPORTS ASSOCIATION CALENDAR 2018-19      
       
Date Sport/Year Venue/Time  
Thurs 13th Sept y5/6 tag rugby 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 20th Sept y3/4 tag rugby 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 4th Oct y1/2 cross country 4-5pm field  
Thurs 11th Oct y3/4 cross country 4-5pm field  
Thurs 18th Oct y5/6 hockey Deeside Ramblers smaller am/larger pm  
Thurs 25th Oct y5/6 cross country 4-5pm field  
HALF TERM 29/10 - 2/11  
Thurs 8th Nov y5/6 basketball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Fri 16th Nov y1/2 indoor athletics 1.30-3.30pm sportshall  
Thurs 22nd Nov y3/4 handball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Fri 30th Nov y3/4 indoor athletics 1.30-3.30pm sportshall  
Fri 14th Dec y5/6 indoor athletics 1.30-3.30pm sportshall  
CHRISTMAS 24/12 - 6/1  
Thurs 10th Jan y5/6 netball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Thurs 17th Jan y3/4 netball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Thurs 24th Jan y1/2 handball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Thurs 7th Feb y5/6 handball 4-5.30pm sportshall  
Thurs 14th Feb y4/5/6 Creative Festival 4-5.30pm sportshall  
HALF TERM 18/2 - 22/2  
Thurs 7th Mar y5/6 cross country 4-5pm field  
Thurs 28th Mar y1/2 football  4-5.30pm field/astro  
EASTER 30/3 - 14/4  
Thurs 18th Apr y3/4 cross country 4-5pm field  
Thurs 25th Apr y5/6 girls soccer 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 2nd May y1/2 cross country 4-5pm field  
Thurs 9th May y3/4 hockey Deeside Ramblers am smaller/pm larger  
Thurs 16th May reception football 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 23th May y5/6 athletics 4-5.30pm field  
HALFTERM 27/5 - 31/5  
Thurs 6th June y3/4 athletics 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 13th June y1/2 athletics 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 20st June y3/4 tennis 4-5.30pm astro  
Thurs 27th June y5/6 tennis 4-5.30pm astro  
Thurs 4th July y5/6 rounders 4-5.30pm field  
Thurs 11th July y4/5/6 Kwik Cricket 2-4.30pm field  

 

 

Summer Term 2019 Extra-Curricular Sports Clubs

Monday:  Tri-Golf 

Tuesday:  Sports Club delivered by Mrs Clarke

 

Curriculum Long Term Overview - 2018/19

Children have an afternoon of PE each week, taught by specialist PE teachers and outside coaches. Our curriculum is built around the Sandstone Partnership Competition calendar and offers a broad and balanced experience. 

Swimming 

Children in KS2 receive an hour of swimming during their allocated block. Swimming will take place at Christleton High School. Year 5/6 will have their block of sessions in the Autumn Term, Year 3/4 in the Spring Term and then any swimmers still needing to develop will be offered an additional opportunity to attend sessions in the Summer Term. We believe that swimming is a vital life skill. Therefore, we go beyond the requirements of the national curriculum. Our aim being that all children will leave school at Year 6 being able to swim 25 metres. Below are the percentages that met the national curriculum requirements for swimming and water safety from last years Year 6. 

Meeting national curriculum requirements for swimming and water safety

Please complete all of the below:

What percentage of your Year 6 pupils could swim competently, confidently and proficiently over a distance of at least 25 metres when they left your primary school at the end of last academic year?

100%

 

What percentage of your Year 6 pupils could use a range of strokes effectively [for example, front crawl, backstroke and breaststroke] when they left your primary school at the end of last academic year?

60%

What percentage of your Year 6 pupils could perform safe self-rescue in different water-based situations when they left your primary school at the end of last academic year?

80%

Schools can choose to use the Primary PE and Sport Premium to provide additional provision for swimming but this must be for activity over and above the national curriculum requirements. Have you used it in this way?

Yes/No

 

 

 

 

Files to Download

Contact the School

Utkinton Primary School

Quarry Bank, Utkinton,
Tarporley, Cheshire
CW6 0LA

Headteacher: Miss Lorna Pleavin

Main Contact: Jo Wright (Admin Officer)

Tel: 01829 732322
admin@utkintonce.cheshire.sch.uk

SEN Contact: Mrs Barnard

SEN Email: vbarnard@utkintonce.cheshire.sch.uk

Chair of Governors: Andy Kent
chair@utkintonce.cheshire.sch.uk